The Emperor’s Nightingale and Other Feathery Tales

Jane Ray

Nominated for the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award

This is the first extraordinary volume of tales collected, retold and illustrated by Jane Ray, one of the world's leading artists of stunning picture books. This volume, The Emperor's Nightingale and Other Feathery Tales, includes many favourites such as The Happy Prince, The Owl and The Pussy Cat, and lesser known, but equally enjoyable stories such as Jorinda and Joringel.

Download the Jane Ray Collection brochure.

  • Publication date: 27th October 2022
  • Age range: 8-10 years
  • Dimensions: 245mm x 175mm 176 pages
  • ISBN: 978-1-910716-54-0

RRP £16.99

Buy from Amazon

  • Publication date: 5th September 2013
  • Age range: 6-9 years
  • Dimensions: 245mm x 175mm 176 pages
  • ISBN: 978-1-907152-59-7

RRP £12.99

Buy from Amazon


"Only an author and artist of Jane Ray’s dazzling talent could do justice to this stunning collection of bird stories, which she has told with elegant simplicity and illustrated in full colour throughout. This is the perfect gift to make a child’s imagination soar."
– Shirley Hughes OBE

". . . stunning illustrations . . . this is a wonderful collection to share . . ."
– Julia Eccleshare, Love Reading and the Guardian children’s book editor

"A book to be relished for its text, art and overall design."
– Booklist

". . . visually stunning . . .a gorgeous collection."
– School Library Journal

"The three books are a delightful, sensory pleasure – great stories, wonderful illustration and books that have been produced to be loved and handled."
– The Letterpress Project